Really, I am writing the pattern out

27Apr07

When I start to work on things that are important to me, and that I am really into crochet wise I tend to let the perfectionist in me rear it’s ugly head. Sometimes it’s good, somtimes it’s not so good. So between deciding on writing this pattern and now actually doing it I’ve gotten very distracted by the actual pattern writing process.

I started out at Crochetville, looking at the posts in the Design Discussion forum and in the Design Den in general for ideas of how to go about getting started (I think that’s the reference librarian in me coming out, I like to start a project by researching the heck out of it). Then I looked at all my pattern books to see what guidelines were followed and if there was some sot of pattern writing standard, I did get tons of great information from Donna Kooler’s Encyclopedia of Crochet. This has been my absolute favorite book for learning crochet techniques and the history of crochet as well, I particularly like that written instructions and illustrations are provided for both left and right handed crocheters. As part of the left handed minority, it was depressingly difficult to find helpful instruction and visual representation of holding yarn, creating stitches, etc. so this book is a definite recommendation for any left handed crocheter. Before I digress too far, I also wanted to mention how helpful the Standard Guidelines for Crochet and Knitting from the Craft Yarn Council of America. I made sure my abbreviations, symbols I’m considering using and skill level descriptions are accurate.

Another thing I’ve been reading a lot about is what exactly is a Creative Commons License. I always see the usual disclaimer on other people’s patterns so last night I went looking to find out explicitly what it is and which one I should use in this particular circumstance. I think for this pattern the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License will do. There’s also a list of things to think about when you’re considering licensing your work which I found very helpful too.

Owlets calling, be back later with more.

No Responses Yet to “Really, I am writing the pattern out”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

