Black motif

26Aug07

Today we went up to Big Bear Discovery Center to kind of cool off and lollygag the afternoon away. For some reason now I’m a bit freaked out driving in the mountains, meaning I pretty much can’t. I’m pretty pathetic past 2000 ft above sea level, so the hubster drove and I conspicuously didn’t look out the window, and instead crocheted motif 61 in black thread.

Here’s a bit of a close up, I ended up taking these in the car on the way back down when we stopped at a gas station to get some water for the kidlets and a stomach settler for me.

The pattern is in an Ondori book that’s in Japanese, but has so many beautiful motifs I couldn’t resist buying it and trying it out. It’s rather easy to follow the diagrams and even with my not being very adept at thread crochet, I was able to finish this up in 40 minutes, which is pretty good for me.

The motif was an attempt to see how to increase triangles in the round, I’ve been working on a custom amigurumi for someone from etsy and was thinking about adding a shawl/stole and I was wondering about the size. Now that I’ve done it, and since came home and tried it on the doll, I’ve found that it doesn’t fit with the feel of the doll, nor is it big enough to look appropriate. Trouble is, I don’t know what to do with it. I suppose I could go through and make all the motifs that catch my fancy in black thread and mount them and frame them? I don’t know.

PS. Another reason I’m not a fan of mountain driving, or motorcycles for that matter- on our way back down the hill we had to suddenly stop because there had been a fairly bad accident with two motorcycles involved and a small car. It was very disconcerting, and I hope the man who looked the most hurt is okay, it was pretty rough.

No Responses Yet to “Black motif”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

