A little bit of this, a little bit of that

18Oct07

Aren’t some crafty women just absolutely amazing? (No offense all you crafty men!) But yesterday I was procrastinating working on my sister’s turtle girl and thought I’d take a look at some blogs in my blogroll, and pretty much went to mollychicken’s and never left. Gawd, sometimes I wish I were British, she’s hilarious, and cheeky and I’m so envious!

Meanwhile, I’m not getting my little turtle girl done as quickly as I’d like, in fact it’s achingly slow, and I’ve made the shell 3 different times, though each time it’s been removable, but I like it just on, otherwise it loosens up too much.  I don’t know what the deal is with the slow going, but I think she’ll be finished by tomorrow, in fact I’d better work on it now to finish up embroidering her hair & smile.  I’ve already been given instructions on what to do for the hair by the recipient herself, picky picky sister! I guess she’s got some leeway right now though, she’s in the hospital and probably will be until mid to late December cooking her baby and trying to keep the little girl in until then.  It’s all a very new (and scary) experience for us since my family culture is home births, both of mine were born at home with a midwife who also happened to be my aunt, and that’s what she was planning until she started having trouble at 23 weeks.  Her midwife (my aunt’s no longer able) had her on bedrest but a week later it was time to head for the hospital where she’s rather unexpectedly stuck for now.  So a turtle who had been in the works for a while, has now jumped to the front of the line.

Okay, so there was the little bit of this, and now since I’m realizing the time there’ll be no little bit of that- I’ve got to finish up that turtle!

3 Responses to “A little bit of this, a little bit of that”

  1. I beg of you… PLEASE!

    I am waiting for a little ladybird/ladybeetle girl, oh, please, please, please.

    You were nearly there with the strawberry, but I am holding my breath for a ladybird!

  2. Goodness, I was planning on making one of those! It’s on my ever growing list of ideas, thanks for the reminder!

  3. 3 Beatriz

    I joined your group at Ravelry. You have my daughter’s name! She was born at home with a midwife. The best experience of my life! My mother in law, she is from Nicaragua, was scared for me.
    So happy to find latinas who are knitters! In May I was in Mexicali taking my grandmother to an appt. While I was waiting, I was knitting. Everybody that walked by did a double take! My cousins tell me that is for old ladies.
    Thanks for forming the group!


Leave a Reply

